2014 Connecticut Regional Scholastic Art Award Winners!


Five Berlin High School Students Place at the 2014 Connecticut Scholastic Art Awards

Courtney Silvia – Silver Key – Drawing
Erik Labieniec –  Silver Key – Digital Art
Alexandra Burness – Honorable Mention – Sculpture
Calvin Nastyn – Honorable Mention – Digital Art
Nicole Veronesi – Honorable Mention – Drawing.

All entries will be displayed at the 2014 Connecticut Scholastic Art Awards exhibition from January 12 – January 31, 2014 at the Slipe Gallery at University of Hartford.
The 25th annual Connecticut Regional Scholastic Art Awards is the largest juried student art exhibition in the state, with Gold Key winners being placed into national competition. The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have an impressive legacy dating back to 1923 and a noteworthy roster of past winners including Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Robert Redford, Joyce Carol Oates, Frances Farmer, Alan Arkin, John Lithgow, Stan Brakhage, Ken Burns, Ned Vizzini, and many more.
The Awards are an important opportunity for students to be recognized for their creative talents. Each year, the Alliance partners with more than 100 visual and literary-arts focused organizations across the country to bring The Awards to local communities. Teens can apply in 28 categories of art and writing for the chance to earn scholarships and have their works exhibited or published. Submissions are juried by luminaries in the visual and literary arts, some of whom are past award recipients. Panelists look for works that best exemplify originality, technical skill and the emergence of a personal voice or vision.
Year after year the program grows with increased participation from students and communities across the country. In the past five years alone, submissions have topped 900,000 works. During that period, more than 60 top arts institutes and colleges have partnered with the Awards to make $40 million in scholarships and financial aid available to regional and national Scholastic Award winners.
The awards will be presented Sunday, January 26, 2014 at 2:00 pm at the Lincoln Theater at University of Hartford. Exhibition is at the Slipe Gallery,  Jan. 12 to Jan. 31, 2014 . Silpe Gallery hours : daily 10 to 4 pm , weekends , 12 noon to 4 pm. Field trips and visitations can be arranged by calling in advance to Hartford Art School at 860–768–4827.
Directions to Un. of Hartford : University of Hartford, 200 Bloomfield Ave, West Hartford, 06117.
Exit 44 from I-84 [ Prospect Ave.] From west: right exit and left onto Prospect Ave. From east : right exit, right turn off ramp, left onto Prospect . Follow Prospect to its end [ 2 miles ] Turn right, on Albany Ave. Then turn left at light onto Bloomfield Ave. Proceed 3/4 mile campus is on right. First entrance for Lincoln Theater. Take second entrance for Hartford Art School and Silpe Gallery.